Blackberry vs. iPhone (possibly vs. Droid)?

Blackberry vs. iPhone (possibly vs. Droid)?

Postby Tammy » Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:29 am

I am not someone who is always on the cutting edge of technology. Actually, I prefer to wait until new things have proven themselves before I jump on the proverbial bandwagon. It took me years to make the leap from a Palm Pilot (nope, not a Palm phone; I mean the Palm Pilot -- stylus and all) to a Blackberry. I admit it, I'm not good with change.

Unfortunately, the Blackberry Tour that I've had for a few years now (and have been very happy with, BTW) is showing signs of being in the final phase of its life. I have promised dh that I will upgrade this weekend. He wants me to consider an iPhone. He has one through his work, and he thinks (as I've heard from many others) that it makes the BB's look like they are from the Dark Ages.

Here are my concerns:

1. I really, really, really like a conventional keyboard. I know I can acclimate to a touch-style, but I fear that it will take me some time to do so. And honestly, I am in the midst of a very busy part of the year with my work. I can't afford to waste my time spending 10 minutes typing a 2-minute e-mail.

2. I think apps are great, but I am not exactly cutting edge with these either. I use them for silly stuff like checking to see when the movie is playing or how much the tip should be at the restaurant. I use my BB primarily for indulging all my type-A ways -- calendars and schedules, to-do lists, and other reminders.

3. I hate that the iPhone has an internal battery. Before you feel too impressed, please know that I gleaned this info from dh. It's the one down side he sees to the iPhone. I use my BB a lot. A lot, a lot. I'm on my third battery. This means that I have been able to hold onto the same phone for about three years, during which I didn't have to get used to a new one and go through this whole stressful event.